Technician Certificate in Wildlife Management

The programme aims to provide students with training in the basic aspects of wildlife management ranging from Wildlife Biology and Ecology to Management approaches, working with local communities. In addition, the programme aims to develop discipline, communication skills, an ability to understand and follow instructions and professionalism in Technician Certificate Graduates. 

Target Students

The Technician Certificate in Wildlife Management is designed for those who want to enter NTA Level 6 or work in Lower ranks of Natural Resources management agencies, NGOs, and Private Sector Organizations. This Programme is taught by the Department of Wildlife Management.

Programme Duration

This is a one-year Programme. It runs from September to June for each academic year.

Training Methodology

Training approaches includes lectures, Interactive structured lectures, directed and self-directed studies, student’s presentation, field and college based practical training exercises. Students participate in safari modules that might involve activities like Resources Inventory.

Programme Assessment and Award

Students must gain 120 credits to be eligible for the Certificate. These Credits are gained through passing all assessed Technician Certificate modules. In order to pass Technician Certificate modules, students must achieve a final module mark of not less than 50% (Continuous Assessments and final Examination) and in addition, pass the final examination by a minimum 50%. Module assessment is based on a mixture of practical exercises, written assignments group and Individual exercises, reports and final examinations. Module continuous assessment is 60% and the final examination is 40% of the final module mark, unless stated otherwise.

Entry Qualifications

Minimum entry qualification is EITHER possession  of Advanced  Certificate of Secondary Education (ACSE) from National Examinations Council of Tanzania (NECTA) with minimum one principal and one subsidiary passes in the following: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Geography, Mathematics, Agriculture, English and Zoology, Botany, Environment, Nutrition  and other related subjects OR, Possession of Certificate equivalent to NTA 4 from the institutions recognized by NACTE in the following areas: Wildlife Management, Wildlife Tourism, Beekeeping, Forestry, Fisheries, Livestock Production, Agriculture, Law Enforcement and/or related fields